Super Bowl Sunday

So…I’ve been a big slacker. I started this blog over a year ago and have done very little with it since.  However, I have decided to “re-activate” it with a commitment to more consistent content and discussion topics.  My desire is that this blog can be a compilation of thoughts, ideas, and resources for men concerning adoption and our role in helping care for the fatherless.  The ultimate goal is that it can be a forum to share with one another through an interactive and honest dynamic.  I encourage you, should you feel compelled, to post links, ideas, and thoughts related to adoption as well as our role as men, fathers, and husbands!

Today is Super Bowl Sunday and many of us will be gathering with friends and family to enjoy a time of relaxation (and a time of mild depression for Seahawks’ fans who will be forced to watch a team they beat by 30 points playing for the championship…I’m not bitter obviously).  Many of these “care-free” moments of life have now become multi-faceted and bitter-sweet for me as a father.  For those of you who have been exposed first hand to orphans in one way or another you understand what I mean.  There is an underlying element of guilt and sadness, a sense of “injustice” at our ability to live in an insulated world of affluence and lack of extreme need.  I believe these moments humble me most when I realize that I did nothing to deserve my situation, and in the same way these fatherless children did nothing to warrant their desperate state of life.  It just happened that way.  For a reason unknown to me, there currently are over 100,000,000 children who have no homes or families.

Fortunately for us as Americans, we live in the most materially blessed society in the history of the world.  You know what this means?  WE CAN DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT!  How humbling is it that we have the ability to change the life of a child/generation forever?  What a massive responsibility God has placed on us to lead our family and wives toward justice for these children!  I get the sense that on occasion that some of you think to yourselves, “Why are you pushing adoption?  Why are you so passionate about adoption?  That is great for you, but it’s not my thing.  I have never felt led to adopt.  Don’t judge me.”  Let me first say that my intention is in no way to make you feel guilty or badly if you choose not to adopt and that I certainly do not judge any of you for your decisions.  Over the next couple of weeks I am going to address some of my answers to why I personally happen to be “Pro Adoption” and why all of us have a clear role in some capacity toward supporting and coming to the aid of the fatherless.  This role will certainly not look the same for everyone, but I believe as men we have an indisputable responsibility in seeing that orphans are cared for.

Today as you spend time with family and friends watching football and enjoying the many blessings in your life I encourage you to thank God for those gifts!  Then, follow that by taking just a brief moment to reflect on the literally millions of orphans around the world at this very second.  These are children created by God just as your children are; who are without food, shelter, clean water, and probably most importantly the love of a family.  As men I believe that we are called to be on the front-lines of a global awakening; an awakening of awareness that will give these invisible children faces and names.  We cannot continue to be passive and rely on our wives to drive action within our families as it relates to adoption.

I look forward to sharing with this community where we can be a part of advocating on behalf of those children whose voices are not loud enough for anyone to hear.

“Adoption is not just about couples who want children – or who want more children.  Adoption is about an entire culture within our churches, a culture that sees adoption as part of our Great Commission mandate and as a sign of the gospel itself.” – Russell D. Moore, Adopted for Life.

One thought on “Super Bowl Sunday

  1. Eric Voight says:

    Hi John! It was great getting to know you and your wife in Ethiopia a couple weeks ago. Our girls are doing great at home. We are so blessed to have them in our family. I love this blog–please do keep posting and I will keep reading!

    This is great:

    We cannot continue to be passive and rely on our wives to drive action within our families as it relates to adoption.

    I look forward to sharing with this community where we can be a part of advocating on behalf of those children whose voices are not loud enough for anyone to hear.

    Yesterday, I had an amazing opportunity to speak at our Church Men’s Conference called “No Regrets” where about 700 men gathered to grow in their relationship with Christ. My breakout session was called “Men and the Cause of the Fatherless.” With many other options for breakouts, it was so encouraging to see about 20 guys come to learn more about our unique role as men in reaching out to orphans.

    [audio src="http://kenoshafirst.com/nrpodcasts/nrpodcasts/D_234_Voight.mp3" /]

    May God bless you and your family in your adoption journey!

    Eric

Leave a Reply

